Lambeth’s greatest gardens go in for Blooming Lambeth Awards 2022

27 May 2022

Written by: Incredible Edible Lambeth

Environment - Voluntary and community sector

Enter your own garden or favourite Lambeth garden in the 2022 Blooming Lambeth Awards supported by Lambeth Council.

Main post content

Lambeth’s greatest gardens go in for Blooming Lambeth Awards 2022

Entries are welcome now for Lambeth Council and Incredible Edible Lambeth’s Blooming Lambeth Awards 2022.

Showcasing green work in Lambeth

You can enter one (and only one, please) of eight categories designed to showcase the amazing work that is going on to green up the borough, bring people together and improve our wellbeing. We are looking for projects that inspire others.

Nominate a great garden

The  categories are:

  • The Ivor Picardo award for most productive vegetable garden

    Blooming Lambeth Awards 2022 logo

    Blooming Lambeth Awards 2022 logo

  • Best School Garden
  • Most enthusiastic young gardener – under 18
  • Best volunteer for a Community Growing space
  • Best resident led estate garden
  • Best garden in bloom, public facing
  • Best wildlife garden
  • Best imaginative use of greening a small space

Check out the IEL website for more details of each category.

Judging and prizewinning

  • Please apply online. Deadline for entries is Midnight July 3 with 100-600 words and 3-6 photos of the garden. You can add social media links for more pictures or information.
  • We will shortlist applications in the following three weeks.
  • Judging and photographing gardens will take place during the first two weeks of July. You may receive a visit from a judge at any time during these two weeks. We may call you to say we’re coming but we may turn up unannounced.
  • There are prizes of £150, £100, £75, £50 & £25 for winners and highly commended entries in each category.
  • The awards ceremony will take place in October 2022.

More information

  • If you have any questions about Blooming Lambeth 2022 email: or
  • You can see more about previous year’s winners on the IEL website

(header photo of last years’ winners courtesy of IEL)