Voting on 5 May

4 May 2016

Written by: Lambeth Council

Arts, culture and events - Council statements and updates

Mayor of London and Greater London Assembly elections take place on 5 May 2016, here is everything you need to know for polling day.

Main post content

Voting on 5 May

Mayor of London and Assembly Members elections
Thursday 5 May 2016

These elections give Londoners the opportunity to decide who the next Mayor of London and Assembly Members will be.

The Mayor of London is responsible for making London a better place for everyone who visits, lives or works in the city. The London Assembly acts as the eyes and ears of Londoners at City Hall. It holds the Mayor to account by examining his or her strategies, decisions and actions to make sure they are in the public interest.

Find out more, visit

On polling day

Polling stations are open on Thursday 5 May from 7am and close at 10pm.

If you are unsure where your polling station is, please use the postcode search to find your local polling station.

You do not need your polling card to vote, but it is quicker and easier for staff if you do bring it with you.

If you are a first time voter our how to vote at this election leaflet is a useful guide for what to expect when you reach the polling station.

You will have three ballot papers in the 2016 elections: one to vote for the Mayor of London and two for the London Assembly. You can find out more about each of these on the London Elects website.

Other upcoming elections/votes

  • European Union referendum – Thursday 23 June 2016

You must be registered to vote by midnight on Tuesday 7 June, if you wish to take part in this vote.

To register, visit Registering takes around five minutes and you’ll need your National Insurance Number. If you are already on the electoral register you do not need to register again.

Find out more, visit

  • Gipsy Hill by-election

Due to the passing of Cllr Niranjan Francis, there will be a by-election in the Gipsy Hill ward on 9 June.

View the Gipsy Hill by-election 9 June 2016 official election notice. More information, will be available shortly at